The Association of Southeast Asian Nation ASEAN is a regional intergovernmental organisation comprising ten Southeast Asian states which promotes Pan-Asianism and intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, military, educational and cultural integration amongst its members and Asian states.

ASEAN shares land borders with India, China, Bangladesh, East Timor and Papua New Guinea, and maritime borders with India, China, Palau and Australia

Since its formation on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand] the organisation’s membership has expanded to include Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam.

Its principal aims include accelerating economic growth, social progress, and sociocultural evolution among its members, alongside the protection of regional stability and the provision of a mechanism for member countries to resolve differences peacefully.

ASEAN is an official United Nations Observer


ASEAN Plus Three

The leaders of each country felt the need to further integrate the nations in the region. Beginning in 1997, the bloc started creating organisations with the intention of achieving this goal.

“ASEAN Plus Three” was the first of these and was created to improve existing ties with the People’s Republic of China, Japan, and South Korea.

This was followed by the even larger East Asia Summit (EAS), which included ASEAN Plus Three countries as well as India, Australia, New Zealand. This new group acted as a prerequisite for the planned East Asia Community which was supposedly patterned after the now-defunct European Community. The ASEAN Eminent Persons Group was created to study the possible successes and failures of this policy as well as the possibility of drafting an ASEAN Charter

In 2006, ASEAN was given observer status at the United Nations General Assembly. In response, the organisation awarded the status of “dialogue partner” to the UN.


ASEAN Plus Six

ASEAN became ASEAN Plus Six with additional countries: Australia, New Zealand and India. Codification of the relations between these nations has seen progress through the development of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), a proposed free-trade agreement involving the 16 countries of ASEAN plus six. RCEP would, in part, allow the members to protect local sectors and give more time to comply with the aim for developed country members



ASEAN Summit in 2017 was chaired by Phillipines.

The Philippines’ ASEAN chairmanship coincided with a historic milestone event—the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Association.

Founded in 1967, ASEAN has since matured into a community focused on economic integration and growth, and consensus-building. This is the “ASEAN Way” and it has resulted in unprecedented growth. ASEAN is both the world’s seventh-largest market and third-largest labor force, and has been projected to become the fourth-largest economic bloc by 2030.

The theme for this years summit was “Partnering for Change Engaging the World” .

The summit  marked the first ever regional agri summit in asean, which was a massive success. 1,500 delegates gathered at the asean agriculture summit 2017 to rally for agripreneurship & prosperity for all


The East Asia Summit (EAS) is a forum held annually by leaders of, initially, 16 countries in the East Asian, Southeast Asian and South Asian regions. Apart from the 10 Asean member states, East Asia summit includes India, China, Japan, Republic of Korea, Australia, New Zealand, United States and Russia. The East Asia summit is the premier forum in the Asia-Pacific region. Since its inception in 2005, it has played a significant role in the strategic, geopolitical and economic evolution of East Asia.


The East Asia Summit for 2017 was held in Manila, Phillipines.

  • .It adopted separate declarations on countering terror financing and effectively dealing with the challenges of terrorism as well as terrorist narratives in the region, seen as an affirmation of India’s call for a concerted approach to deal with the scourge.
  • In the documents, the member countries of the influential grouping including India strongly resolved to work together in containing terrorism, extremism and radicalisation by taking a series of measures, including choking funds to the groups involved in such activities.
  • In the declaration on anti-money laundering and countering terror financing, the East Asia Summit said it will also implement the UN Security Council resolution dealing with threats to international peace and security caused by terrorism
  • In the declaration on countering ideological challenge of terrorism and terrorist narratives and propaganda, the leaders of the East Asia Summit resolved to take all possible measures to stop the spread of terrorism and violent extremism in accordance with the international law and principles of the UN Charter.
  • . The EAS also issued a ‘Leaders’ Statement’ reaffirming commitment to take effective steps to contain chemical weapons including their destruction and protect states threatened by use of such weapons.

It said those who use chemical weapons and toxic chemicals as weapons should be held accountable.

Separately, the Asean issued a declaration to contain cyber crime.

It said the member countries will take effective steps in containing cybercrime through various measures and by enhancing mutual cooperation through information sharing.

The Asean said it will enhance cooperation with its dialogue partners like India and the US, as well as relevant agencies and organisations at regional and international levels, such as EUROPOL and the Interpol among others to enhance cyberspace


Guide us on how/what to improve, below...